
Multi-Rail Banking Turns on Routing Each Payment
Two 24/7 instant networks now operate in the US. The open question for banks is which rail each payment should take, not whether they can reach one.
Routing each payment to the right rail now matters more to banks than adding rails. FedNow and the RTP network both run around the clock, so instant settlement is available on two networks, but each payment still needs a speed, cost and limit decision.
The Ledger Desk · 3 min read- Cards, ACH, instant rails, wires and digital assets solve different problems, so PYMNTS argues banks need several rather than one.
- The Federal Reserve says FedNow went live on July 20, 2023 and operates every day of the week, including weekends and holidays.
- The Clearing House says the RTP network, running since 2017, supports payments of up to $10 million, 24/7/365.
- Two instant networks with different reach and limits make per-payment routing a real design decision for bank and challenger teams.
- This piece cites no adoption-rate or per-rail cost figures, because the only source for them is a secondary item that does not disclose its sample or date.
PYMNTS argues that cards, ACH, instant rails, wires and digital assets are not competing to replace one another, because each suits different transaction types, speeds and costs. That framing holds up against the infrastructure itself: US banks can now reach two instant networks that never close. The commercial question shifts from whether a rail exists to which rail a given payment should use.
Instant rails no longer close at night
The always-on property that once separated instant rails from ACH and wires is now present on two networks. The Federal Reserve says FedNow went live on July 20, 2023 and runs a 24-hour business day every day of the week, including weekends and holidays. The Clearing House says the RTP network offers availability around the clock, including bank holidays and after hours. Time of day is therefore no longer a reason to avoid instant settlement.
Two networks mean a routing decision
Having two instant networks adds a choice instead of removing one. The Clearing House states that the RTP network has operated since 2017 and supports transactions of up to $10 million. The Federal Reserve describes FedNow as a service for US depository institutions on which they and their service providers can build value-added services. A bank serving corporate flows has to decide which network to use when, and what to do when a counterparty is reachable on only one.
Why orchestration is the harder build
Connecting to a rail is a one-time integration; choosing among rails is a decision made on every payment. PYMNTS frames multi-rail capability as essential rather than optional, which implies decision logic over speed, cost, finality and risk, not only more connectors. This piece does not quantify the cost spread between rails, because the figures in the PYMNTS item come with no stated sample, date or fee definition.
What this means for bank and challenger teams
Product and treasury teams should measure, per rail, what each payment actually costs and how often it settles as intended, before buying more connectivity. The practical test is whether a payment that could clear faster or cheaper actually does. Watch two things next: how far banks reach both FedNow and the RTP network rather than one, and whether independent regulator or network data, not vendor claims, shows which rails carry growth.
- What is a multi-rail strategy in banking?
- It is the ability to offer several payment rails, such as cards, ACH, instant payments, wires and digital assets, and to send each payment over the one that best fits its speed, cost and customer need.
- Are instant payment rails available around the clock in the US?
- Yes. The Federal Reserve says FedNow has operated since July 20, 2023, every day including weekends and holidays. The Clearing House says the RTP network is available 24/7/365, including bank holidays.
- What limit applies on the RTP network?
- The Clearing House states the RTP network supports transactions of up to $10 million. The Federal Reserve page on FedNow reviewed for this piece does not state a limit.
- Why Multi-Rail Strategy Is Banking's Next Competitive Edge — PYMNTS
- FedNow Service: About — Federal Reserve
- RTP Network — The Clearing House