StandardsAboutContact
The Ledger
Kraken parent Payward agrees to buy Finland's Saldo Bank

Kraken parent Payward agrees to buy Finland's Saldo Bank

Payward, Kraken's parent, would gain a bank licence for deposits and lending in Europe. Price and approval status were not disclosed.

Kraken's parent, Payward, has agreed to buy Finland-based Saldo Bank, which would give it a licensed route into deposits and lending in Europe. The deal moves Payward from crypto trading toward balance-sheet banking, but price, timing and regulatory approval were not disclosed in the source report.

The Ledger Desk · 3 min read

Payward, the parent of crypto exchange Kraken, has struck a deal to buy Finland-based Saldo Bank, Finextra reported. The purchase would let the group offer deposit and lending products in Europe. The source report gives no price, closing date or approval status, so this is an agreed intention, not a completed acquisition. The more useful question is what a bank charter changes for a business built on trading fees.

What the deal gives Payward

The deal would give Payward the ability to take deposits and make loans in Europe, which a crypto-asset licence alone does not permit. Finextra describes the purpose as enabling deposit and lending products. Bloomberg reports that Kraken already operates in the EU under a MiCA licence, which covers crypto-asset services rather than banking. A bank charter shifts the revenue model from trading fees toward net interest margin, though no economics for this transaction have been disclosed.

A pattern of licence-led expansion

The Saldo Bank deal fits a stated direction, not an isolated purchase. Bloomberg reported in July 2026, citing unnamed people, that Payward was planning to buy a Lithuanian bank; Payward declined to comment, and the lender was not named, so any link to Saldo Bank is unconfirmed. The Block reported in August 2026 that Payward's co-CEO said the company was looking at becoming a full bank in some geographies outside the US.

What remains unknown

The source report discloses no price, expected closing date or regulatory approval status, and a bank acquisition generally needs supervisory clearance before it completes. Until those are public, the announcement is an agreed intention. The figures that would show what Payward is buying, such as Saldo Bank's deposit base, loan book and capital position, were not in the material reviewed, and nothing here should be read as confirming them.

What this means for the sector

For operators, the practical read is that crypto exchanges are buying existing bank charters rather than applying for new ones, which suggests speed to a licence matters more than the purchase price. Competitors and payment partners should watch the supervisory filing, then the first deposit or lending product Kraken launches in Europe. Those two events will show whether the charter funds real lending or mainly serves as regulatory cover for existing crypto services.

What is Payward buying?
Payward, the parent of crypto exchange Kraken, has struck a deal to buy Finland-based Saldo Bank, according to Finextra. The aim is to offer deposit and lending products in Europe.
Has the Saldo Bank deal closed?
Not according to the source report. It describes an agreed deal and gives no price, closing date or approval status, so it should be read as an agreement rather than a completed acquisition.
Is Saldo Bank the Lithuanian bank Bloomberg described?
That is unconfirmed. Bloomberg reported in July 2026, citing unnamed people, that Payward planned to buy a Lithuanian bank and did not name it. Saldo Bank is Finland-based.
  1. Kraken parent to buy European bank Saldo — Finextra
  2. Crypto Firm Kraken Plots Bank Purchase to Expand Europe Presence — Bloomberg
  3. Kraken parent Payward explores becoming a 'full bank' outside the US — The Block