
Apple's Siri AI Ships With Systemwide App Actions
Apple's Sept. 14, 2026 Siri AI rollout expands what the assistant can do inside other apps, but Apple's own announcement never mentions purchases, checkout or Apple Pay — a gap that stands out after Visa, Mastercard and OpenAI spent mid-2026 building agent-payment infrastructure with card networks and processors.
Apple's Sept. 14, 2026 Siri AI release adds systemwide app actions but no purchase or checkout capability, per Apple's own announcement. That leaves the assistant outside the agent-payment infrastructure Visa, Mastercard and OpenAI built in 2026 with card tokenization, spending controls and dozens of processor partners — infrastructure whose actual transaction volume none of the three companies has disclosed.
The Ledger Desk · 4 min read- Siri AI's Sept. 14, 2026 rollout adds systemwide app actions (drafting emails, WhatsApp texting, Audible playback) but Apple's own release makes no mention of purchases, checkout or Apple Pay.
- Visa and OpenAI announced a tokenized payment integration on June 10, 2026 letting AI agents complete purchases within user-set spending limits — Visa's own release names only itself and OpenAI as partners.
- Mastercard launched a rival framework the same day, Agent Pay for Machines, naming more than 30 initial partners including Adyen, Coinbase and Stripe, and citing blockchain platforms including Polygon and Solana as part of its infrastructure.
- OpenAI and Stripe's Instant Checkout is live for US Etsy purchases and was expanding to 'over a million' Shopify merchants as 'coming soon,' per Stripe's Sept. 29, 2025 announcement — neither company has disclosed transaction volume or conversion figures.
- Siri AI is not launching in the EU (on iOS, iPadOS or watchOS) or in China at all, keeping Apple's assistant out of the market with the most developed App Store payment-steering regulation.
Apple's overhauled Siri AI went live in beta on Monday, Sept. 14, 2026, adding personal-context understanding, world knowledge, onscreen awareness and — in Apple's own words — 'even more systemwide app actions' that can draft an email, text over WhatsApp or play an Audible title without opening the app. What the release does not describe, anywhere in Apple's language or in the action examples it lists, is a purchase, a checkout or an Apple Pay transaction. That is the more interesting fact for anyone tracking where the money actually moves: 2026 has been the year Visa, Mastercard and OpenAI spent building infrastructure for an AI agent to pay on a user's behalf, and Apple's flagship assistant just shipped without one.
The action list stops short of a wallet
Apple's Sept. 14 newsroom post lists systemwide app actions already live — drafting messages, playing an Audible title, texting over WhatsApp — plus actions coming next in Microsoft Outlook, Notability and Tripsy. None of the named actions involves a purchase, a checkout flow or Apple Pay, and the release makes no mention of the App Store, a developer payments API, or Wallet. Apple has not stated whether a payment action is planned; the omission is notable mainly because rivals spent the summer building exactly that capability into their own assistants.
Visa built a payment rail with one named partner
Visa said on June 10, 2026 that tokenized Visa credentials can power agent-initiated checkout inside ChatGPT and Codex, with spending limits enforced before any payment authorizes, according to Visa's own newsroom release. The release, attributed to Visa chief product and strategy officer Jack Forestell, frames the collaboration as extending Visa's network into AI-driven commerce. It names only two parties throughout — Visa and OpenAI — with no mention of a broader merchant-authentication framework or a named partner network beyond the two companies.
Mastercard signed on more than 30 partners the same day
Mastercard's June 10, 2026 announcement named more than 30 initial supporters for its rival Agent Pay for Machines framework, including Adyen, Checkout.com, Cloudflare, Coinbase and Stripe, according to Mastercard's own release. The framework is built to settle machine-to-machine payments across cards, bank accounts and stablecoins. The release also cites blockchain platforms including Polygon and Solana as part of that infrastructure, without detailing exactly how agent credentials or permissions are recorded on them.
What's proven is thinner than what's built
OpenAI's Instant Checkout, built on an Agentic Commerce Protocol co-developed with Stripe, is live for US purchases from Etsy sellers and was expanding to 'over a million' Shopify merchants — including named brands like Glossier, Vuori and Spanx — described as 'coming soon,' per Stripe's Sept. 29, 2025 announcement. Neither company has published transaction volume, conversion rates or a timeline for the Shopify rollout going live. That gap between announced merchant reach and disclosed usage is the environment Siri AI enters without a payment rail of its own, whether by choice or by sequencing.
The EU is a second, separate absence
Siri AI is not rolling out at all in the EU on iOS, iPadOS or watchOS, or in China, at launch. Apple's own release attributes the EU gap to working toward 'a path forward that preserves its users' privacy and security' and cites unspecified 'regulatory requirements' for China, without naming the Digital Markets Act or any statute. That leaves Apple's most capable assistant untested in the one major market where regulators have already forced open App Store payment steering — the exact terrain a future Siri payment action would eventually have to cross.
- Does Siri AI let users complete a purchase through Apple Pay?
- Apple's Sept. 14, 2026 announcement does not describe any purchase, checkout or Apple Pay capability among Siri AI's systemwide app actions, and Apple has not stated whether one is planned.
- Who has already built payment rails for AI shopping agents?
- Visa and OpenAI announced a tokenized payment integration on June 10, 2026; Mastercard announced a separate Agent Pay for Machines framework the same day with more than 30 initial partners; and OpenAI's ChatGPT Instant Checkout, built with Stripe, is live for Etsy purchases with Shopify integration described as 'coming soon' as of Stripe's Sept. 29, 2025 announcement.
- Why is Siri AI unavailable in the EU at launch?
- Apple says Siri AI will not launch initially in the EU on iOS, iPadOS or watchOS, citing work toward 'a path forward that preserves its users' privacy and security'; it cites separate, unspecified regulatory requirements for excluding China.
- Apple Bets on Siri AI to Win the Personal Assistant War — PYMNTS
- Siri AI, a profoundly more capable and personal assistant, is here — Apple Newsroom
- Visa Partners with OpenAI to Power the Next Generation of AI Commerce — Visa
- Mastercard Launches Agent Pay for Machines to Unlock Super-Fast, Always-On Payments — Mastercard (Investor Relations)
- Stripe powers Instant Checkout in ChatGPT and releases Agentic Commerce Protocol codeveloped with OpenAI — Stripe